ICC Men’s T-20 World Cup winners list.

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup is usually organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC) at intervals of 2 years, but sometimes it is also held at intervals of only one year. West Indies is the current champion of the ICC T20 Cricket World Cup.

Its first edition was played in South Africa in 2007 and the upcoming tournament will be hosted by India in 2021.

The Indian team won the first edition of the ICC T20 Cricket World Cup tournament by defeating their arch-rival Pakistan by 5 runs. I think everyone will remember the final over of that exciting match when India defeated Pakistan in the last over.

India had hosted the Men’s Cricket T20 World Cup in 2016 and now India will also host the 2021 ICC T20 Cricket World Cup.

It is expected that the Indian team will do its best to become the world champion once again.

The list of all the T20 World Cup Winners so far:

1– 2007 T20 World Cup (South Africa): India won the first T20 World Cup by defeating Pakistan by 5 runs in the final in Johannesburg.

2– 2009 T20 World Cup (England): Pakistan defeated Sri Lanka by 9 wickets at Lord’s and won the second T20 World Cup.

3– 2010 T20 World Cup (West Indies): England won the third T20 World Cup by beating Australia by 7 wickets in Barbados.

4– 2012 T20 World Cup (Sri Lanka): West Indies won the fourth T20 World Cup by defeating Sri Lanka by 36 runs in Colombo.

5– 2014 T20 World Cup (Bangladesh): Sri Lanka won the fifth T20 World Cup by defeating India by 6 wickets in Dhaka.

6– 2016 T20 World Cup (India): West Indies won the sixth T20 World Cup by defeating England by 4 wickets in Kolkata.

ICC T20 Cricket World Cup 2021 host nation: India

Highest runs: Mahela Jayawardene of Sri Lanka (1016 runs)

Most wickets: Pakistan’s Shahid Afridi (39 wickets)

List of ICC Men’s T-20 World Cup Winners (2007-2020):

WinnerRunner UpYearVenue
IndiaPakistan2007South Africa
PakistanSri Lanka2009England
EnglandAustralia2010West Indies
West IndiesSri Lanka2012Sri Lanka
Sri LankaIndia2014Bangladesh
West IndiesEngland2016India
ICC Men’s T-20 World Cup Winners

The above list shows that the West Indies are the most successful team having won two T20 World Cups, the first year in 2012 and the second in 2016.

The Sri Lankan side, on the other hand, have played three finals of the ICC T20 Cricket World Cup, winning one of them and being runner-up in two finals.

Also Seee : https://seasonrush.com/sports/cricket/

Leave a Comment

You cannot copy content of this page