IND vs NZ, WTC Final: All you need to Know

ICC World Test Championship Final India vs. New Zealand 1st WTC Final Will the Test Championship Final match be held during the Corona period.

Cricket fans around the world are eagerly waiting for the final of the ICC World Test Championship. India and New Zealand will face each other in the final. Both the teams have reached the title match after performing brilliantly.

India played six series in the championship and entered the final after scoring 520 points. The Indian team topped the points table. At the same time, New Zealand played five series and scored 420 points.

When and where will the Test Championship final be played? (World test championship final schedule)

The WTC title match between the Indian Test team and the New Zealand Test teams will be played from June 18 to June 22. Earlier this famous and big match was to be played at Lord’s, the most special ground in cricket history, but later its venue was changed. Now, the final match will be played at Rose Bowl in Southampton.

Cricket lovers have been waiting for a long time to be a World Cup-like final in Test cricket like ODI and T20 tournaments. There is a competition between all the top test teams globally, and finally, the final test is played between two teams. 

The ICC fulfilled this dream of the fans and started the formula for the World Test Championship. Twice it was postponed due to various reasons, but this time, it did not happen, and now the matter has reached the first Test Championship final, that is, the title match of the white jersey.

What will be the follow-on rule in WTC 2021 Final? ICC clarified.

Clarification was given in the Follow-on Rules by the ICC regarding the final of the World Test Championship Final 2021 to be held between India and New Zealand. One-day reserve day has been kept in the match. Because of this, the ICC has made it clear that even if one day’s play is spoiled due to rain, the follow-on rule will remain the same. The Cricbuzz website has given this information quoting ICC sources.

According to ICC rules, if the team batting first gets a lead of 200 or more runs over the opponents, it can feed the front team on follow-on. If the number of days in the match is less, then the number of runs leading in the follow-on is also reduced.

According to the rules, the ICC considers a lead of 150 runs in a match of three to four days as valid for follow-on. Similarly, 100 runs in a two-day match and 75 runs in a one-day match are considered valid.

India is better than New Zealand in terms of overseas victories, a tremendous record.

The World Test Championship (WTC) final match between India and New Zealand may be played at a neutral venue. Still, Virat Kohli-led Team India’s record on foreign soil during this championship has been better than the Kiwi team. New Zealand played five series during the WTC period from 2019 to 2021, winning series at home against India, Pakistan, and the West Indies and making it to the finals of the WTC on points percentage.

Not a good start in championship

The start of the Kiwi team was not good in this championship. The Kiwis, captained by Kane Williamson, had a 1-1 draw in the 2019 series in Sri Lanka while they lost 0-3 to Australia in the 2019-20 season. On the other hand, India had a good start and scored full points by beating the Windies at home.

After this, Team India defeated South Africa and Sri Lanka on home soil. India beat South Africa 3-0 and Bangladesh 2-0. However, Team India faced defeat in the Test series 0-2 in New Zealand in 2020. After this series, cricket activities came to a standstill due to the Coronavirus worldwide.
After this, the Test series in Australia in 2020-21 was very important for Team India, where they won the series by defeating Australia 2-1 at their home. India played three home away series during the WTC period, where they won two.

For New Zealand, the England environment is the only thing that can benefit them. It is being said that the climate in England is similar to that of New Zealand. Several former cricketers, including Brett Lee and Glenn Turner, have said that the England environment can benefit the Kiwis.

Indian squad for WTC 2021

Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Chesteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (c), Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant, Ravindra Jadeja, Hanuma Vihari, Umesh Yadav, Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Wriddhiman Saha

Indian squad 🇮🇳 for WTC 2021

New Zealand Squad for WTC 2021

Kane Williamson (c), Tom Blundell, Trent Boult, Devon Conway, Colin de Grandhomme, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Neil Wagner, BJ Watling, Will Young 

Leave a Comment

You cannot copy content of this page